Linden gets modernized police station

The Guyana Police Force on Friday commissioned a new police station in the Mackenzie Linden.

The new station will also be the Divisional Headquarters ‘E’ Division and will be commanded by new Commander, Superintendent Linden Lord who took over from Retiring Superintendent Anthony Vanderhyden.

The newly built station is equipped with solar panel,  surveillance cameras and a back-up generator in case of emergencies.

The fully air-conditioned station also has its own Domestic Violence Report Room with seperate entrance, it boasts a modern State-of-the-Art Training Centre, Conference Room and Identification, Witness Protection, Listening and Case Management rooms among others.

The cost of the building cost some $117,173,309.00 and was funded by the Inter-American Development Bank with Mr. George Lambert being the supervisor consultant and Mr. Ivor Allen the Contractor.

Commissioner of Police, Leslie James urged the ranks to use the station professionally and to always be professional when serving the public; the Commissioner also urged the ranks to use the facility in manner that is expected of them and reminded them that he has high expectations.

“We are very appreciative for the efforts by the political administration, we have a Government that is committed and we will continue to serve you (the public) within our mandate” the Commissioner reiterated.

Minister of Public Security told the gathering that the Government of Guyana has made a big commitment and will continue to make those commitments to ensure ranks are in a better condition to serve the country; he also urged the ranks to root out corruption and to be efficient, discipline and professional.

He also noted that the Government has invested some $1.18B to refurbish and rebuild police buildings and that they will continue to mobilize more resources for other buildings. Prior to that, twelve of the eighteen police buildings have been completed this year at a tune of $380,000,000.

Those attending the opening ceremony were, Acting Prime Minister and Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan; Commissioner of Police Mr. Leslie A. James DSS, DSM; Security Adviser Mr. Russel Combe; Regional Chairman Mr. Rennis Morian; Deputy Mayor Mr. Wainwrite Bethune; IDB Country Representative Ms. Sophie Makonnen;  Deputy Commissioner of Police Ms. Maxine Graham, DSM; Head of Police Strategic Planning Unit Senior Superintendent Royston Andries-Junor among many other invitees and police ranks.

Was This Post Helpful:

0 votes, 0 avg. rating


Leave a Comment