At the Annual General Meeting of the Guyana Association of Women Lawyers held on the 25th May 2017
the following persons were appointed as the New Executive for the fiscal year 2017-2018. President
Gaitree Ramona Rookhum, Vice President Shellon Boyce, Secretary Chandrawattie Persaud, Treasurer
Alanna Lall, Assistant Secretary Treasurer Nekeisha Persaud, Committee Members Jaya Singh Backreedy,
Denise Hodge, Coleen Sparman Stephen and Anita Mohan Hamilton.
Ms Rookhum was admitted to practice in 2008 where she joined the chambers of Messrs Hughes, Fields
and Stoby and is currently associate to Richard B. Fields, Esq, SC practicing general civil law. She takes
the helm as the Association celebrates its 30 year anniversary founded in 1987 by the Honourable
Madame Justice Desiree Bernard, retired, the first female judge of the Caribbean Court of Justice with
its charter secretary being the late Deborah Jan Backer.
Through the past three decades the Association has been led by Sheila Chapman, Pearlene Roach,
Claudette La Bennett, Susan Moore, Anande Trotman, Rose Benjamin-Noble, Roxane, George, Rose
Cadogan, Sandra Bart, Dale Kingston, Gem Sanford-Johnson, Sandra Kurtzious, Emily Dodson, Simone
Morris Ramlall and most recently Sadie Amin.
The Association is known for its publications of the Law and You, the Constitution and You and Local
Government and You, user friendly booklets explaining prevalent laws and procedures in layman terms
and its annual activities include educational and humanitarian outreaches to women and children, visit
to the inmates at the women’s prison in New Amsterdam and continuing legal education workshops for

Was This Post Helpful:

0 votes, 0 avg. rating


Leave a Comment